Sunday, December 20, 2015

Ellis classification (Tooth fractures)

Ellis classification (Tooth fractures)

Ellis Class I
  • Enamel fracture: This level of injury includes crown fractures that extend through the enamel only. These teeth are usually nontender and without visible color change but have rough edges.

Ellis Class II
  • Enamel and dentin fracture without pulp exposure: Injuries in this category are fractures that involve the enamel as well as the dentin layer. These teeth are typically tender to the touch and to air exposure. A yellow layer of dentin may be visible on examination.

Ellis Class III
  • Crown fracture with pulp exposure: These fractures involve the enamel, dentin, and pulp layers. These teeth are tender (similar to those in the Ellis II category) and have a visible area of pink, red, or even blood at the center of the tooth.

Ellis Class IV
  • Traumatized tooth that has become non-vital with or without loss of tooth structure.

Ellis Class V
  • Luxation: The effect on the tooth that tends to dislocate the tooth from the alveolus.
  • Teeth loss due to trauma.

Ellis Class VI
  • Avulsion: The complete separation of a tooth from its alveolus by traumatic injury.
  • Fracture of root with or without loss of crown structure.

Ellis Class VII
  • Displacement of a tooth without the fracture of crown or root.

Ellis Class VIII
  • Fracture of the crown en masse and its replacement.

Ellis Class IX
  • Fracture of deciduous teeth.

This Article has been edited By :: World Of Dentistry :: TEAM
For any questions and suggestions please don't be hesitate to feedback us.

:: World Of Dentistry :: TEAM

No comments:

Post a Comment